Reflections

I’m good at sitting by a window and staring blankly at an iridescent sky
I’m not good at looking people in the eye

I used to be a dreamer, dancing through life without much care
Now I worry about which path to follow next, and I long for times gone by

I am talented and honest and good
I am not talented or honest or good

If you held my hand, I would look closely at our touching skin, confused and disorientated

Then I’d close my fingers tightly around your hand like it’s a knee-jerk reaction while still not feeling a single sensation

I like it when the sun goes down and the world is shrouded in darkness and mystery
I don’t like mysteries

I know a lot about very little
I know nothing about quite a lot

I admire the ways in which the earth can give way to such beautiful things
I don’t respect that as much as I should

I believe in fairytales and magic and the power of love
I don’t believe in myself

Raelee Lancaster

Leave a Reply

